Our people

The Code Compliance Monitoring Committee (CCMC) is an independent Committee established under clause 36 of the 2013 Code of Banking Practice.

Our day-to-day work is supported by our Secretariat. The Secretariat receives operational and administrative support from the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA) under a service agreement between us, the Australian Banking Association and AFCA. This agreement is designed to maintain our independence in governance arrangements, processes and decision-making.

The Committee

Chris DooganChristopher Doogan AM

Chairperson Current term: 31 January 2017 – 30 January 2020

Chris is a company director and lawyer by background, having occupied several senior positions in both the private and public sectors. Chris was first appointed as Chair of the CCMC on 1 February 2014.

His public sector positions included Deputy Comptroller-General and Comptroller-General of Customs prior to his appointment to the High Court of Australia as inaugural Chief Executive and Principal Registrar. In addition to partnership in a leading law firm of which he was the Managing Partner, he has been CEO of the National Capital Authority; Chairman of a company owned by the Commonwealth of Australia and the State of New South Wales, Law Courts Limited; Chairman of a health insurance company, Australian Health Management Group Limited; and Chairman of Community CPS Australia Limited, a mutual bank (trading as Beyond Bank Australia).

He has written an administrative law textbook, is a trained mediator from Harvard Law School and has filled many community positions including Vice President of the Australian Institute of Management and membership of advisory bodies relating to tertiary education, health and finance.

He has been a member of several regulatory agencies including the Commonwealth Tax Practitioners Board and the ACT Legal Practitioners Admission Board, and was a member of the Australian Business Foundation Board, the Principal Member of a specialist Commonwealth Appeals Panel, the independent Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee for the Family Court of Australia and the Federal Circuit Court of Australia; and Chairman of the Board of the Centre for Customs and Excise Studies. He is currently the independent member of the ACT Community Services Directorate Audit and Risk Committee, an Adjunct Professor at Charles Sturt University, a Director of ACT & Southern NSW Rugby Union Limited (the Brumbies) and a member of The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust fellowship selection panel.



Anne O’Donnell

Industry Representative Current term:  27 October 2018 –  26 October 2021

Anne is a non-executive director with extensive work experience in the banking, funds management and superannuation sectors.

Anne is a director of Equity Trustees Holdings Ltd, an ASX listed company providing specialist Corporate Trustee and Wealth Services and a director of the MTAA Superannuation Fund.

Other current non-executive roles include director of The Churchill Memorial Trust, member of the UBS Compliance Committee and chair of IP Australia’s Audit Committee.

Her past roles include Chair of Beyond Bank, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Australian Ethical Investment Ltd and twenty years with the ANZ Bank.  Anne holds a Masters of Business Administration and a Bachelor of Arts, Banking and Finance.  She is a Senior Fellow of the Finsia and a Fellow of the AICD.


Gordon RenoufGordon Renouf

Consumer and Small Business Representative Current term:  1 July 2017 – 30 June 2020

Gordon is a lawyer and consumer advocate. He is a co-founder and CEO of Ethical Consumers Australia, which operates the Good On You ethical shopping service. He is Deputy Chair of Justice Connect and the Consumers’ Federation of Australia and serves on the boards of the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman (as a Director with Consumer Experience) and Good Environmental Choice Australia. He served two terms as a member of the Commonwealth Government’s Consumer Affairs Advisory Council, and from 2007 to 2009 he was a member of the executive of Consumers International, the global peak body for national consumer organisations.

Gordon has worked as Director, Policy and Campaigns for the consumer group CHOICE, Director of the National Pro Bono Resource Centre, Director of the North Australian Aboriginal Legal Aid Service and Director of the Northern Territory Government’s 2004 Alcohol Framework Inquiry.

Find out more

Our Secretariat